Environmental Matters Analysis EIS DEIS NEPA
Skip navigation.

Environmental Matters > Office of Environmental Analysis

The Office of Environmental Analysis (OEA) is the office within the Surface Transportation Board (STB) responsible for directing the environmental review process, conducting independent analysis of all environmental data, and making environmental recommendations to the STB. Typically, as part of the environmental review process for actions that come before the STB, OEA will conduct an environmental analysis, or determine that an action is subject to a categorical exclusion. At the conclusion of the environmental review process, the STB considers the entire environmental record, including all public comments submitted during the environmental review process, before making a final decision.

The STB's environmental rules can be found at 49 CFR 1105. The environmental rules implement various environmental statutes that include the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and the National Historic Preservation Act. The environmental rules are designed to ensure adequate consideration of environmental factors in the STB's decision-making process. The STB has adopted the former Interstate Commerce Commission environmental regulations that govern the environmental review process and outline procedures for preparing environmental documents.

Under NEPA, the STB must take into account in its decision-making the environmental impacts of its actions, including direct, indirect and cumulative impacts. The STB must consider these impacts before making its final decision in a case. OEA assists the STB in meeting this responsibility by: conducting an independent environmental review of cases filed with the agency; preparing any necessary Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) or Environmental Assessment (EA); conducting public outreach to inform the public and communities about proposals before the agency and to notify them of the opportunity to raise environmental concerns; and providing technical advice and recommendations to the agency on environmental matters.

Contact OEA

Mailing Address:
Surface Transportation Board
Office of Environmental Analysis
395 E Street, SW
Washington, DC 20423-0001
Fax (202) 245-0454
     
Victoria Rutson
Director, Office of Environmental Analysis
and Federal Preservation Officer
(202) 245-0295
RutsonV@stb.dot.gov
 
Phillis Johnson-Ball
Deputy Director, Office of Environmental Analysis
(202) 245-0304
 Johnson-BallP@stb.dot.gov


Kenneth Blodgett
Environmental
Protection Specialist
(202) 245-0305
BlodgettK@stb.dot.gov

 
Jeffrey Irwin
Environmental Protection Specialist and Archaeologist
(202) 245-0299

IrwinJ@stb.dot.gov
     
Adam Assenza  
Environmental Protection Assistant
(202) 245-0301
AssenzaA@stb.dot.gov
 
Danielle Gosselin
Attorney Advisor
(202) 245-0300
GosselinD@stb.dot.gov
     
Catherine Glidden
Environmental Protection Specialist and Archaeologist
(202) 245-0293 
GliddenC@stb.dot.gov
 
Roslyn Anderson
Administrative Assistant
(202) 245-0296
AndersonR@stb.dot.gov
     
David Navecky
Environmental Protection Specialist
(202) 245-0294 
NaveckyD@stb.dot.gov 
 
Diana Wood
Environmental Protection Specialist
(202) 245-0302
 WoodD@stb.dot.gov
     
Joshua Wayland
Environmental Protection Specialist
(202) 245-0330 
WaylandJ@stb.dot.gov